Before you place a single trade.

Read this entire book.

Ok, it’s not really a book, more like a booklet considering it’s mostly pictures and a 12 point font, but great information none-the-less.

I can’t stress enough the idea of trading in small sizes with a lot of reserve capital so you can take advantage of a more attractive price even if you are already in a trade.  Also, take your time when planning and executing a trade, if you “miss” the opportunity, don’t rush the next one, just be ready earlier. Patience will turn into $$’s faster than rushing.

I am constantly surprised by how many traders can gain/lose 30% of their account in 5 pips or less. Such large swings have to stressful or euphoric and will make it nearly impossible to remove emotion from the decision-making.  When I gain or lose 1% on a trade, sure, I am happy or disappointed, but it won’t affect my decision to open or close the next trade.

I have a post in the works that talks about probability and the uselessness of a 3:1 risk/reward ratio, I think it’s brilliant, but then again I also have a degree in Commercial Art and not Statistics and Probability.

Enjoy your weekend everyone! Oh and follow me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

